Book Review

The Booze Stole My Son – Don’t Let it Steal Yours (by  Aui V.)

I was asked by a dear mother and author, the owner of the blog writingandalcohol.wordpress.com and the website www.auisjournal.com to give a review of her book “The Booze Stole My Son – Don’t Let it Steal Yours.” The book is a real life account of the author herself about the tragedy of losing her son due to drunk driving. It serves like a warning yet very touching counsel to all who are suffering from alcoholism and those whom loved ones are victims of the disorder.

These are some of my favorite quotes from the author.

“Maybe things are difficult sometimes because we are trying to live life to the fullest, because we are not denying the pain and we are searching for better ways to live.”

“Parents are the most imperfect people here on earth. God is not.”

“The fear of not having enough was the driving force behind all the chaos. It was like being caught in a net and the more I struggle out of the bondage, the more the net seemed to get tighter.”

“If the spirit remains alive, that’s good. If it dies, what can I do?”

My message to the author:

Dear Ma’am Aui,

How can I not love a writer who poured her heart and soul writing her book? Powerful words only come up when you think you are in the pit of desolation but you actually have become the best you can be. A book of this kind will make us realize that the power of love is stronger than death. I think I’m a little older than JC. I’m 28. I had to stop every time I become emotional while reading it because the words you used were so powerful. It made me think how miserable my parents would feel if I gave up things I love. I’ve been battling depression for a while and am looking for more motivation to continue my journey.

Reading your book made me feel as if I have known you for years. I will never fully understand the pain a mother would go through for losing her son, but at least I could imagine how my mother would feel or think when I’m gone. I can’t speak for your son, but through reading your book, I am very sure he loves you so much and that he has always been thankful for having a loving mother like you. Like him, I’m also aware of my parents’ weaknesses and their struggles in raising me up. I’ve seen their worst and they’ve seen mine.  As I grew older, it made me realize that their flaws are nothing compared to all the sacrifices they have done for me.

Although we have different beliefs and concept of God, we share the idea that He is aware of our sufferings and promises us everlasting life if we can endure until the end, and that there will be a resurrection of the dead. (John 5:28,29)  There is a very good reason why God has not yet stopped bad things from happening. However, He is never the source of our trials. (Job 34:10-12; James 1:13) He also promises that “the last enemy, death, is to be brought to nothing.” (1 Corinthians 15:26) Thank you for entrusting me to review your book and for sharing this masterpiece that only us, fragile humans, can write masterly.

If you have time ma’am, I would also like you to read a brochure here https://download-a.akamaihd.net/files/media_books/d5/we_E.pdf. I suggest others to do the same. It is a good read for those who are suffering from a loss of their loved ones.

Hugs and best wishes.

Your friend,

Jordan

 

 

Did you like this post and want more posts in the future related with this topic? Click “Follow” or “Subscribe” via email to receive free updates on my future posts. Don’t forget to share this to your friends on social media. Feel free to express your ideas by using the “Leave Reply” option below.

View all other posts by tapping the menu below:

15 thoughts on “The Booze Stole My Son – Don’t Let it Steal Yours (by Aui V.)

Leave a Reply

